2019 FIXTURES AND CLUB TRAINING NIGHTS

Dates and details are provisional and subject to change at short notice - please check before you travel!

Saturday 2nd February Talkin Tarn, Coaching - Juniors, Adult Beginners
10.00am - 1.00pm. Coaching aimed at adult beginners/improvers and juniors of all standards. A short talk indoors in the Education Cabin, followed by practical exercises outdoors in the country park. Lead coach is Christine Kiddier.

'During the morning, we hope to cover the basics of orienteering, possibly in 2 sessions. There are I believe facilities to make tea/coffee - bring cakes to share. There is also a tearoom close by. Bring a pen and a compass. Come prepared to walk/run about woodland and open areas where it maybe raining/snowing or be gloriously sunny., but probably not warm. It can be very exposed around the tarn so please bring wind/waterproof jacket, hat and gloves etc. The car park at Talkin Tarn is pay and display. (£2.25 all day). There is very limited roadside parking near the derelict hotel, but then a longer walk to the meeting.'

If you haven’t already seen them, there are a series of videos online, on the basics of orienteering by the GB squad and South London Orienteering and Wayfarers Club (SLOW). Very useful. There are links on our New to Orienteering? page, or from the SLOW website. 

More experienced orienteers would be welcome to come and help. Contact Jane if interested This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. so we have an idea of how many maps to print.

Saturday 9th February Gelt Woods Level D (Local)

Monday 11th February Chances Park, Carlisle (Club Night)

Sunday 17th March 2019 COMPASS SPORT CUP HEAT - ENTRIES NOW OPEN!
CompassSport Cup Heat, Bampton Common (National) Annual inter-club competition.
BL are hosting the NWOA regional round on the newly mapped Bampton Common.
PROVISIONAL DETAILS (PDF)

  

Monday 18th March Low Hesket Village Hall (Club Night)

Saturday 6th April Aughertree Level D (Local)

Monday 8th April Castle Park, Penrith (Club Night)

Saturday 11th May Hallin Fell Level D (Local)

Monday 13th May Penrith Rugby (Club Night)

Monday 10th June Lazonby (Club Night)

Saturday 15th June Brampton Urban Level D (Local)

Monday 8th July Shap School (Club Night)

Saturday 13th July Eycott Hill Level D (Local)

Sunday 1st September Askham Common Level C (Regional, Cumbrian Galoppen)

Monday 9th September Rickerby Park, Carlisle (Club Night)

Saturday 12th October Watermillock Level D (Local)

Sunday 3rd November High Pike Level C (Regional, Cumbrian Galoppen)

Monday 11th November Penrith Town (Club Night)

Saturday 7th December Talkin Tarn Level D (Local)